AF Continues Safety Award Legacy with NSC

  • Published
  • By Susan Merhege
  • Air Force Safety Center Public Affairs
For the ninth year in a row, the Air Force claimed a coveted spot among the National Safety Council’s Rising Star for Safety award-winners. Master Sgt. Justin R. Musall, 735th Air Mobility Squadron safety superintendent, Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam, Hawaii, was awarded the 2018 NSC Rising Star for Safety for his contributions to the Air Force safety community.

The Rising Star for Safety award is presented annually to 40 stand out individuals who show a dedication to safety leadership in the workplace. The Air Force remains the only military branch or organization (private or federal) to win the award every year since its inception in 2010.

“His [Musall’s] selfless dedication and devotion to safety has earned him this deserving recognition,” said Debra Ferris, NSC’s director of Safety & Health Solutions, Government Sector.

"I'm both extremely honored and humbled to receive this recognition, and credit all those who have mentored and shaped me along the way to become the Safety Professional and Airman I am," Musall said.
Musall was nominated by former supervisor, Michael Wahler, chief of Air Mobility Command’s Safety Operations Flight.

“Justin exceeded our spot inspection standard by almost 300%. He identified a significant fire hazard and secured over $100K in repair funds in under 13 days,” said Wahler. “In 2017, he identified an underground fuel tank fire hazard and implemented rapid mitigation measures averting $200,000 in potential damage and preventing numerous fatalities.”

According to Wahler, this is only the “tip of the iceberg” in comparison to the safety contributions Musall has made to the Air Force.

The complete list of the 2018 Rising Star for Safety award-winners will be released in the October edition of NSC’s magazine, Safety + Health.

See below for a look at the last nine years of Air Force Rising Star for Safety winners:

2010: Natalie Turner, U.S. Air Force – Royal Air Force Mildenhall, United Kingdom
2011: Justin Carwile, 721st Aircraft Maintenance Squadron
2012: Anthony Blodgett, 52 Fighter Wing Safety Office
2013: Joshua Franklin, Eleventh Air Force
2014: Calvin Grade, 730 Air Mobility Squadron
2015: Michael Hawkins, U.S. Air Force Academy
2016: Ross Weatherford, 66 Air Base Group
2017: Biagi Borrero, Air Combat Command, Directorate of Safety
2018: Justin Musall, 735th Air Mobility Squadron