An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

2018 Air Force Safety Awards announced

  • Published
  • Air Force Safety Center

Air Force Chief of Safety Maj. Gen. John T. Rauch Jr. recently announced the recipients of the five Secretary of the Air Force and Chief of Staff Safety Awards, as well as the Chief of Safety Awards for 2018.

"We had a remarkable group of nominees this year, but these Airmen genuinely stood out," Rauch said. "Effective risk management and mishap prevention are cornerstones to the Air Force Safety Program, but it takes determined leadership to identify when risk must be accepted to accelerate our operations. These Airmen set the example for the Air Force.”

Air Force Safety Award winners are:

Secretary of the Air Force Safety Award
Air Mobility Command 

Major General Benjamin D. Foulois Memorial Award
Air Combat Command 

Colonel Will L. Tubbs Memorial Award for Ground Safety
U.S. Air Forces in Europe and Air Forces Africa

Koren Kolligian Jr., Trophy
Capt. Matthew T. Heath, 71st Flying Training Wing, Vance AFB, Okla.

Chief of Staff of the Air Force Aircrew of Distinction Award
Crew of Hawk 91, 28th Bomb Squadron, Dyess AFB, Texas

Air Force Chief of Safety Special Achievement Award
Maj. Robert A. Kamber, Air Force Special Operations Command Safety, Hurlburt Field, Fla.

Air Force Safety Officer of the Year
Capt. John-David L. Webb, 305th Air Mobility Wing Safety, Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, N.J. (AMC) 

Air Force Civilian Safety Professional of the Year
Mr. Gary Ashe, 60th Air Mobility Wing Safety, Travis AFB, Calif. (AMC)

Air Force Enlisted Safety Professional of the Year
MSgt. Justin R. Musall, 735th Air Mobility Squadron, Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam, Hawaii (AMC)

Air Force Chief of Safety Aviation Maintenance Safety Award
Mr. Gerardo Valdez Jr., 509th Maintenance Squadron, Whiteman AFB, Mo. (AFGSC)

Air Force Chief of Safety Outstanding Achievement Award for Occupational Safety
Category I - Warner Robins Air Logistics Complex Safety (AFMC)
Category II - 502d Air Base Wing Safety, Joint Base San Antonio, Texas (AETC)
Category III - 509th Bomb Wing Safety, Whiteman AFB, Mo. (AFGSC)
Category IV -435th Air Expeditionary Wing Safety, Ramstein AB, Germany (USAFE)
Category V - 724th Air Mobility Squadron Safety, Aviano AB, Italy (AMC)

Air Force Nuclear Surety Outstanding Achievement Award
31st Fighter Wing Weapons Safety, Aviano AB, Italy (USAFE)

Air Force Chief of Safety Outstanding Achievement Award for Weapons Safety
TSgt. Scott A. Roode, 455th Air Expeditionary Wing Safety, Kandahar Airfield (AFCENT)

Air Force Chief of Safety Space Safety Award
45th Space Wing Safety Technologies Team, Patrick AFB, Fla. (AFSPC)

Aero Club Safety Certificate
Robins AFB Aero Club (AFMC)